Steve Medeiros
Stephen Medeiros: President
One of the founding members, Steve is serving a 19th term as President. In 2011, he was appointed as RISAA's first Executive Director. He sits on several state boards and fisheries groups, and served on the R.I. Marine Fisheries Council for 12 years until 2011. Steve is the Newsletter Editor, Chairs the N. E. Saltwater Fishing Show and Take-A-Kid Fishing Day committees, and is active on 11 other committees. E-mail

Rich Hittinger
Capt. Richard Hittinger: 1st Vice President
Rich is now in his 9th term on the Board. He has been a recreational member of the R.I. Marine Fisheries Council since 2008 and is the Council's Vice Chairman. He also represents RISAA on several state fisheries and environmental groups. In addition, Rich serves on the RISAA Artificial Reefs Committee (Chair), the Legislative Committee (Vice Chair), and the Political Action Committee. E-mail

Capt. David Monti
Capt. David Monti: 2nd Vice President
Dave, is now serving his 4th term on the Board. He is a recreational representative on the R.I. Marine Fisheries Council, and is chairman the RISAA Legislative Committee. Dave is also a member of the Recreational Fisheries Working Group of NOAA’s Marine Fisheries Advisory Committee. He is a charter captain and writes a fishing column for the Providence Journal and several newspapers. E-mail

Roger Tellier

Roger Tellier: Secretary

A member for 16 years, Roger is currently serving his fifth year on the Board.
He is a member of the Legislative Committee, and volunteers to help on every club event.

Peter O'Biso
Peter O'Biso: Treasurer
Peter is serving his 5th year on the Board. In 2012 he was elected as Secretary; then as Treasurer in 2013 and has served in that position since. He has been a member since 2004, and is the Chairman of the Charter Trips Committee and also serves on the By-Laws, Legislative and Salwater Fishing Show committees.

Michael Lawing
Capt. Michael Lawing: Sergeant-At-Arms
Mike was elected as Sergeant-At-Arms in 2016, after serving as a Board Member in 2014 and 2015. He is chairman of the Fund-Raising Committee and also serves on the Legislative Committee


Travis Barao
Travis Barao: Board Member
Travis is a "Life" member and is serving his third term on the Board. He is a member of the Legislative Committee and also was appointed as a recreational representative to the Atlantic States (ASMFC) Black Sea Bass, Fluke and Scup Advisory Panel.

Capt. Ed Cook
J. Edwin Cook: Board Member
This is Ed's 9th term on the Board. He was Treasurer for his first 5 years and now serves as a Board Member. He chairs the RISAA Menhaden Committee and serves on the Charter Trips, Legislative and PAC committees. Ed is very involved in fisheries management. He is the RI recreational representative to the ASMFC Striped Bass Advisory Panel. E-mail

Robert Murray

Robert Murray: Board Member

A member for 11 years, this is Bob's third term on the Board. He is Chairman of the Tag & Release Committee, and is an active member of the Legislative Committee.

Thomas Smotherman

Thomas Smotherman: Board Member

Tom has been a member for 16 years, and previously served as a Board Member in 2012. He was elected back on the Board in 2015 and 2016. He serves on the Legislative and Take-A-Kid Fishing committees.

Diane Valerien

Diane Valerien: Board Member

Although only a member for two years, Diane has demonstrated her leadership skills and taken an active roll on the Education, Legislative and Tag & Release Committees. She's a "hard core" angler who fishes many times each year, and has been a seminar speaker sharing her knowledge with other members.

Capt. Mike Warner

Michael Warner: Board Member

Mike is now serving his 8th term on the Board. He Chairs the Boat Shows and Foundation Committees and also serves the Artificial Reefs, Legislative and Scholarship Committees.

2015 2014 2013 2012 2011 2010 2009
2008 2007 2006 2005 2004 2003

Copyright © Rhode Island Saltwater Anglers Association 1999-2016.
All rights reserved.