About RISAA

The Rhode Island Saltwater Anglers Association is a non-profit organization, created to provide a forum for recreational saltwater anglers;  to provide education to members concerning fishing techniques, improved catches, and overall enjoyment of fishing;  to foster sportsmanship;  to support marine conservation and sound management of fisheries resources;  and provide a unified voice to preserve and protect the rights, traditions and the future of recreational fishing in Rhode Island.

Established in 1997, the Rhode Island Saltwater Anglers Association by-laws define our organization, and our membership subscribes to a code of ethics that guides our actions while fishing. As one of the largest saltwater fishing associations in the United States, our charter has now undergone nine revisions, and we remain confident that we will continue to evolve with our fisheries.

The organization is lead by a board of directors with six officers and six directors. We have a number of committees focused on specific initiatives or forms of fishing – the names of the groups and contact information is available below.

We maintain cooperative relationships with many fishing-oriented groups, and have an active list of suppliers in RI and the vicinity offering member discounts.

Board News

Chase Marina RFI Response

The Chase Marina facility is located in what is commonly referred to as the Tiverton Basin close to the northern end of the Sakonnet River. The lower shores of the…
Read more

Speed Restrictions

I write this on behalf of the Rhode Island Saltwater Anglers Association (RISAA). We represent over 7500 recreational anglers, many of whom fish the state and federal waters of the…
Read more

Mayflower Wind

The Rhode Island Saltwater Anglers Association (RISAA) represents over 7500 saltwater anglers in southern New England. Many of our members fish in the Sakonnet River and its approaches. We write…
Read more

Two Wins for RISAA

Boy have we had a good month!  First, against all odds, our tautog proposal was passed/recommended by the RI Marine Fisheries Council by a  4 – 2  vote and has…
Read more

Help RISAA honor Steve at Black Point

Steve Medeiros was certainly one of a kind. He had an unmatched vision for how recreational saltwater anglers could band together and make a positive change. Much more than having…
Read more

Tautog Update

RI becomes First State along the North East and Mid Atlantic Seaboard to recognize and take steps to protect Trophy Tautog First the good news and it absolutely is good.   Starting…
Read more

Executive Leadership

Greg Vespe

Executive Director

A ten year member or RISAA, Greg became the executive director of our organization during the fall of 2021.  Considered one of RI’s top anglers, Greg has presented seminars for RISAA and other local clubs as well as multiple presentations at the New England Saltwater Fishing Show.

Officers

Dawn Filliatreault Wood

President

Dawn has been a RISAA member for 14 years and is now serving her fourth year on the board and first year as the President. She serves as Chair of the Education Committee, Chair of the Membership/Welcome Committee and is a member of the Legislative, New England Saltwater Fishing Show and Saltwater License Plate Committees.  She has previously served on the Charter Trips Committee.  She has volunteered many hours at the New England Saltwater Fishing Show and Take a Kid Fishing Day as well as a number of other RISAA events.  

Capt. Richard Hittinger

1st Vice President

Rich is now in his 15th year as an officer. He is chairman of the RISAA Legislative and Artificial Reefs Committees. He also serves on the Political Action Committee and Youth Fishing Camp committee. Rich represents RISAA on several state fisheries and environmental groups. 

Susan Lema

Secretary

A member for the past 17 years, Susan is serving her third term as RISAA Secretary. Susan is also a member of the Charter Trips and Legislative Committees. Considered a top angler, Susan has presented seminars at RISAA meetings and at the New England Saltwater Fishing Show.

Capt. Steve Skenyon

Treasurer

Steve has been a member of RISAA since 2018 and this is his first year as Treasurer.  He also serves on the Legislative Committee by monitoring the status of bills relevant to RISAA interests.  Steve is licensed CPA and also has his USCG 50 ton Captain’s license.

David Michel

Sergant-At-Arms

A 12-year RISAA member, this is David’s fourth term as an officer. He has been a member of the Scholarship Committee for the past 13 years, and has been its Chairman for the past 9 years. He also serves on the Education and Legislative Committees.

Directors

Gary Johnson

Board Member

This is Gary’s 5th term on the Board. He has been a RISAA member for 20 years, and chairs of the Merchandise Committee. In addition he serves on the Legislative, Saltwater Fishing Show and Youth Fishing Camp Committees.

Robert Murray

Board Member

A RISAA Member for 17 years, this is Bob’s 9th term on the Board. He is the administrator of RISAA’s Tag & Release Program, and is an active member of the Legislative Committee.

Richard Reich

Board Member

Richard has been a member for 18 years. He previously served on the Board in 2017 and 2018. He is Vice Chair of the Surfcasters Committee and also serves on both the Legislative and Youth Fishing Camp Committees.

Capt. David Monti

Board Member

Dave is now serving his 10th term as an officer. Dave is vice chairman of the R.I. Marine Fisheries Council and Vice Chair of RISAA’s Legislative Committee. He is co-chair of the Recreational Fishing Symposium, works on Youth Fishing Camp and is a licensed charter captain.

Ron Barnes

Board Member

Ron has been a member of RISAA for three years and is the current Chair of the Surfcaster’s Committee.  This year marks Ron’s first term on the board. 

Peter O’Biso

Board Member

Peter is serving his 11th year on the Board and and recently concluded serving 8 terms as our Treasurer. A very active 18-year RISAA member, he serves on the Charter Trips, By-Laws, Fly-Fishing, Legislative, Saltwater Fishing Show, Surfcasters and Youth Fishing Camp Committees.

RISAA Contacts

By-Laws CommitteeRobert Blasi, Chairblasi@risaa.org401-527-5157
Charities CommitteeRalph Orleck, Chairorleck@risaa.org401-323-0657
Charter Trips CommitteeHal Gibson, Chairgibson@risaa.org401-524-9035
Dealer Discount ProgramGilbert Bell, Coordinatorgil@risaa.org401-315-2529
Education Committee.Thomas Wood, Chairtomwood@risaa.org401-263-3909
Elections CommitteeGisele Golembeski, Chairgisele@risaa.org401-935-0827
Financial Review CommitteeRaymond Marchak, CPAfinance@risaa.org401-826-2121
Fly Fishing CommitteeJohn W. Edwards IIedwards@risaa.org650-773-4168
Foundation CommitteeMichael Warner, Chairwarner@risaa.org401-364-0027
Fund-Raising CommitteeLawrence Hill, Chairhill@risaa.org774-280-0155
Kayak CommitteeKraig Ruth, Chairruth@risaa.org.401-640-3679
Legislative CommitteeRichard Hittinger, Chairhittinber@risaa.org401-739-1875
  Artificial Reefs SubcommitteeRichard Hittinger, Chairhittinger@risaa.org401-739-1875
  Menhaden SubcommitteeDavid Monti, Chairmonti@risaa.org401-480-3444
  Public Access SubcommitteePeter Jenkins, Chairjenkins@risaa.org401-826-2121
Merchandise CommitteeGary Johnson, Chairgary@risaa.org401-787-5981
Political Action Committee.Greg Vespevespe@risaa.org401-662-5573
NewsletterGreg Vespevespe@risaa.org401-662-5573
Saltwater Fishing ShowBob Murraymurray@risaa.org401-378-5895
Scholarship CommitteeDavid Michel, Chairmichel@risaa.org401-952-8697
Surfcasters CommitteeRon Barnes, Chairbarnes@risaa.org508-058-6781
Tag & Release ProgramRobert Murray, Coordinatormurray@risaa.org401-378-5895
Tournaments CommitteeJohn Volpe, Chairvolpe@risaa.org401-580-1063
Welcome CommitteeDawn Filliatreault Wood, Chairwood@risaa.org401 263-3919